top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tyburski

What I want to be when I grow up...

If you asked me this question a few years ago, I would have said that I'm going to have my own business. If you asked me why...my answer would have simply been "I want to be my own boss." As time went on and my goals have shifted, I have learned that while I want to eventually have my own business, it will be based on the actual criteria of the job.


About a year ago, I had a project that required me to create a complex social media marketing plan for a local start-up company. It was during this time that I realized how much I enjoyed the research and the plan I was creating. I became passionate about social media marketing and decided that when I look for jobs, it will be related to this specialty. Now I'm about a month away from graduation and have applied to several jobs related to marketing and social media. It wasn't until this week that I began receiving feedback and invitations to interviews.


Now, I will admit that this isn't what I truly want to do. I simply just need to establish a reliable income in order to support myself while I build my dream career. I am an entrepreneurship major, which really brings out my aspirations and creativity. My plan is to build a brand of myself and become a professional social media manager. Instead of working for a specific company, I will collaborate with multiple clients and help them grow in this new digital world. This job will also give me the freedom of working from home, traveling, and creating my own schedule, which has always been my preference. Although it will take time, I am excited to begin my post-graduation journey and establish myself as a young entrepreneur in the business world of social media.


Gif courtesy of Tenor

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page