top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tyburski

Welcome to my Blog!


My name is Lauren and I am a senior at Mount St. Mary's University. I am majoring in Entrepreneurship and I have a strong interest in marketing, especially social media marketing. Last summer, my best friend and I decided to get an apartment in Frederick, Maryland and commute to school. This was a tough decision due to our college budget, but we both work in Downtown Frederick and decided it was the best thing for us to do. So far, I love living in Frederick, I have two jobs, where I have actually enjoyed working for the first time in my life. Although my chapter in college is going to come to an end in a few months, I wanted to create this space to share my thoughts on the impacts that social media has had on my self-image and desires.


Growing up, I didn't have much of a social life because I spent most of my time in a gym. I did competitive gymnastics for 14 years, which was my main personality trait back then. Unfortunately, I kept getting seriously injured and in 2016, I decided it was time to move on. It took some time for me to find my niche after that because I was already halfway done with high school and most people didn't even know we went to the same school. I ended up joining the school dance team, which is where I finally found some friends and a new hobby. Although I don't do flips or dance much anymore, I'm happy with how my life is going.


In my free time, I enjoy listening to and discovering new music. I personally love 70s & 90s rock along with alternative rock. To me, music is an outlet... no matter what emotion I'm feeling, music always finds a way to make me feel better. I also enjoy design, whether that be home decoration, organization, or styling outfits, coming up with different design ideas is something that occupies my mind a lot.


When I think about my blog and why I chose this theme and color scheme, a few reasons come to mind. First off, one of my favorite colors is brown because it serves as a comfort color for me. A fun fact about me is that my favorite color changes every few months, I've never had one ultimate favorite color. In terms of the header, I decided to go with clouds because they are my favorite natural element on Earth; I could look at the clouds for hours. In terms of a theme, I don't have a specific idea of what I plan on focusing on, but I do want to touch on the effect social media has had on my self-image.


I was introduced to social media when I was 12, which in my opinion was a few years to early. The only platform I was allowed to use was Instagram and I was fascinated. I loved how I could follow people and make friends through social media. I wish that I was introduced to social media a few years later because I would see all these girls on my feed that would post in bikinis and full-faced makeup, when I was wearing a leotard and covered in chalk all day.


Since then, I have had hard times trying not to compare myself to the people I see on the screen, but it's hard. A few months ago, I decided to delete Instagram until I was secure enough in my own image to be able to handle it. This was one of my smartest decisions because I wasn't sitting at home scrolling and feeling bad for myself. Rather, I found myself doing things I've been wanting to do such as, reading or going to the gym. I created this blog so that I can share my thoughts on the impact social media has on young girls.


<3

Lauren




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Site Name. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page