top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tyburski

"might delete later..."

Over the past year, I have realized that I need to turn my social media presence into a more professional space. The main reason behind this is that I have begun searching for job opportunities. It has become very important to me to represent myself in a professional manner both in-person and online. As a result, I have constructed my top 10 tips for creating and maintaining a professional presence online.


Gif courtesy of Tenor

  1. Consistency is key... It is important to remain consistent across all online platforms you present yourself on. This will reduce confusion on your true identity, personality, and help build credibility.

  2. "Your family is watching"... This is probably the tip that I stress to myself the most. If you wouldn't want your parents or grandparents to see it, don't post it.

  3. "What is your passion?"... Just because you want to remain professional doesn't mean you should hide what you love. People want to see YOU and who you really are. Personally, I am passionate about food and travel, which is represented in my online spaces.

  4. Find your niche... People tend to connect with other like-minded individuals. Finding other users with similar interests is a great way to make connections and network.

  5. Defend your reputation... Protect your privacy and your reputation. If someone tags you in an inappropriate or questionable post, you have the power to remove yourself from the post.

  6. The internet never forgets... It is so important to remember that once something surfaces online, it is extremely difficult to completely delete it and erase the information from users' minds.

  7. Seek relationships, not just followers... While having a lot of followers might make you feel powerful, building relationships with your online peers will be more beneficial in the long run.

  8. Stay true to your personal brand... Just be yourself and embrace who you are through your online platforms.

  9. Know your audience... Whether your accounts are private or public, it is important to know and monitor who sees your content and the content you engage with.

  10. "Where should I post this?"... If you have decided to post something on social media, it is important to know which channel would be the most appropriate for the content.

These are my top 10 tips for professional branding on social media platforms. Personally, I wish that I had been more cautious about what I posted when I was in middle school. Therefore, I wanted to share these tips to help teens and young adults create a more positive and professional profile.


Lauren <33

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page