top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Tyburski

I Tracked my Screen Time...

Over the past week, I have kept track of all of my social media usage in a time log. I found the results pretty eye-opening. Just to touch on my screen time, I discovered that I use Spotify, Pinterest, and TikTok the most. Although I am glad that my top two apps are the ones I use for production and relaxation, the results for other apps made me reflect on why I use them. For example, I open my Snapchat several times a day for no reason. I don't have any notifications, no intentions of sending a message or posting anything...I simply just tap the icon and look at it until I'm bored. Why do I do this?!


It took me a while to realize why I constantly check my socials. The sad part is that I have no reason to check them other than the fact of being bored. It is almost as if I have an automatic instinct to click on Snapchat or TikTok. Luckily, I discovered why this is the case. I used to have my Instagram and Snapchat in the bottom section of my phone that remain constant on every page. The apps in this section are going to be the ones that catch my attention first, therefore leading me to click on them even if I don't have a reason to.


A few months ago, I decided it was best to delete Instagram for a while due to self-image issues. Once I downloaded it again, I set it to not appear on my home screen, so I have to go to the end of all of my applications to find it. Ever since Instagram hasn't been at the main part of my screen, my usage decreased. It is from this realization that I have decided to move my Snapchat off of my home screen as well. I hope that from this, I lose that instinct to constantly check my Snapchat.


From tracking my social media usage, I have almost become embarrassed from how much time it takes away from my real life. I have so many goals such as to learn piano, electric guitar, to read more, to workout every day, and more...but my progress is upsetting because I'm distracted by my phone. Overall, this assignment has been a huge eye-opener and I plan on limiting my social media use by taking apps away from my everyday sight in hope to progress towards my goals.


Lauren

<33



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Site Name. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page